Michigan Driver Responsibility Fees put the working poor in tough position that they can’t get out of. A cycle of license suspensions and fees follows resulting in a debt exceeding the worst credit card balances. These fees result in drivers saddled with debt for tickets and fees. This is compounded by the lack of a driver’s license which limits job prospects. Its no secret that drivers responsibility fees drive individuals into bankruptcy, where they can discharge fees and get their license back immediately. We have worked with families that have for the sole purpose of getting their license back. However, it appears that there are changes on the horizon in the state of Michigan.
How Did We Get Here?
In 2003, Driver Responsibility Fees were imposed to make up for a budget shortfall. The state legislature could not agree to raise taxes or limit spending, so the decision was made to take the funds from drivers. Public Act 165 of 2003 took effect October 1, 2003 and assessed a monetary penalty owed to the state to drivers convicted of a certain offense. Offenses such as no proof of insurance or driving with expired license received a fee of $150.00. While the most common offense, driving while license suspended, received a fee of $500.00. Driver’s Responsibility Fees have been a lucrative source of revenue for the state. Crain’s Detroit Business reports that they generated more than $100 million for Michigan’s budget.
Effect on the Community
Because of the fees, as many as 100,00 Michigan residents have had their driver’s license revoked. To get their license back, the drivers must pay all tickets, drivers responsibility fees and a reinstatement fee of $150.00.
The Michigan Legislature has recently voted to phase out drivers responsibility fees, which will completely be phased out on October 1, 2019. The House bill seeks to end collection of all fees even earlier by moving up the timeline to September 30, 2018. This contrasts with the Senate bill which will continue collection activities for six years after assessment. Both bills would need to be approved by the acting governor to become law. Although the house bill is much more advantageous for drivers, drivers responsibility fees will be a thing of the past in the next decade.
This is great news for drivers, but most people can’t wait between one and six years to get their license back. If you have insurmountable drivers responsibility fees, our firm can get your license back immediately. Call 248-237-7979 for a free consultation.